FIFA 20 Icons Complete Wishlist: Players We Want to See

1. David Beckham

It is absolutely criminal that David Beckham hasn’t been featured as an icon in FIFA so far, because he was such an influential player throughout his entire career. From winning the Premier League six times with Manchester United to his world renowned move to Real Madrid and his eventual move to the MLS, Milan, and PSG, Beckham is the true definition of an icon.

2. Edgar Davids

With his badass shades and immense skills on the pitch, Edgar Davids is one of the most famous Dutch footballers with a career that saw him play for Ajax, Barcelona, Juventus, Inter Milan, Tottenham Hotspur, and… Barnet. Alright, his performances in League Two at 40 years old might not get him the icon card, but his outstanding ability during the late ’90s and early ’00s means he’s sorely missed in FIFA. He was even one of the cover stars for FIFA 2003!

3. Ferenc Puskas

One of the oldest, and sadly no longer with us, players on this list is Ferenc Puskas, a Hungarian international who was one of the best players in the world during the ’40s, ’50s, and ’60s. He led Hungary, of all teams, to a second placed finish in the 1954 World Cup, and he won five consecutive Spanish league titles with Real Madrid. He even has a global award named after him; the Puskas Award is granted to the player who scored the most beautiful goal throughout the year. Come on EA, where is he?

4. Ole Gunnar Solskjaer

And Solskjaer has won it! One of the most memorable lines of commentary for any United fan, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer may not have played 90 minutes every game for the club, but he is by all means an absolute legend. He won the Champions League in 1999 with his last minute goal, securing the treble, and played for them for over 10 seasons. He’s now managing the club and while we’re still yet to see how the baby faced assassin will fare in the 2019/20 season, he deserves an icon card. Especially since he was one of the original legends in FIFA 16 and 17, it’s a disgrace he was removed.

5. Cafu

Cafu may have played at right back, one of the less glamorous positions on the pitch, but it’s safe to say he’s one of the best Brazilian players of all time. He’s the most capped player for his country with 142, and he’s the only player in the world to have appeared in three consecutive World Cup finals, winning two of them. If Roberto Carlos deserves an icon card, so does Cafu.

6. Oliver Kahn

Before Manuel Neuer became one of the greatest German goalkeepers of all time, there was Oliver Kahn. He played the majority of his career with Bayern Munich and won eight Bundesliga titles, along with featuring 86 times for the national team, making him a hero for German fans everywhere, especially during the 2002 World Cup when Germany finished second, losing to Brazil in the final. Goalkeepers aren’t recognised as often as outfield players, but Oliver Kahn is one of the best and deserves an icon card.

7. Eric Cantona

He may have had a shorter career than most on here, and he might also be infamously remembered for his karate kick on the fan in the crowd, but Eric Cantona is without a doubt one of the best players to have never received an icon card in FIFA. He arrived at United in the 1992/93 season and turned their season around, then played a prominent role in the club’s multiple league titles during the ’90s. Cantona may have had controversy follow him everywhere, but his ability and awards are undeniable.

8. Zinedine Zidane

The French midfield maestro may have had a shocking end to his international career with his headbutt on Marco Materazzi in the 2006 World Cup Final, but the rest of his playing career was outstanding. Over 500 club appearances for teams including Juventus and Real Madrid with almost 100 goals from central midfield means that Zizou is one of the best French players of all time, and now that he’s the manager of Real Madrid, the man can do it all.

9. Kaka

Another Brazilian maestro, Kaka’s peak was short-lived after he suffered from serious injuries while playing for Real Madrid. During his six-year stint at AC Milan however, Kaka was widely considered to be one of the best players in the world, highlighted by his Ballon D’Or trophy in 2007, and three consecutive inclusions in the FIFPro World XI from 2006-2008.

10. Francesco Totti

You’d be hard pressed to find a better one club legend than Francesco Totti. He spent 25 years playing for AS Roma in Serie A, scored over 300 goals for the club, and secured them the league title in 2001. His playing style was as a true number 10, which he adopted for Italy too, and secured the World Cup in 2006. Most players move on to the MLS or China in their latter years, but not Totti; he kept playing at the highest level for as long as he could.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>